The carve-out (or partial sale of a company) represents a special challenge in the M&A environment. Individual parts or brands are sold out of a company or a group of companies.

The value of the part of the company or the brand, for example, is problematic, which is difficult for the investor to measure. Operational spin-offs of business units represent a particular challenge. In particular, the decoupling from existing systems (IT), the separation of employees and the transfer of business are worthy of special mention.

 

Our analyses & services for a possible carve-out

 

  1. Which part of the company is to be sold, what is included, which employees and which assets will be transferred?
  2. Due diligence of the interlocking of the business unit with the company (legal, economic, social, spatial).

  3. Preparation of an independent profitability calculation for the carve-out part and auditing of this by an independent auditor.

  4. Process preparation of the carve-out: Preparation of the separation of the company part, making parts already independent of the organisation (where feasible), classic M&A tasks such as preparation of the management presentation, the data room, vendor due diligence and investor analysis and approach.

  5. Conclusion of the contract including possible agreements on Transition Services Agreements (TSA).

  6. Actual decoupling on the vendor side. Separation in economic, IT-technical and legal terms. Integration potentially not with transferred employees and assets etc. as well as ensuring compliance with the contractual provisions of the sale (especially with regard to existing TSAs). Documentation of the transaction to avoid possible liability cases.

     

Thorsten Stark
Senior Partner

Contact

Lars stark
Direktor Corporate Finance / M&A

Contact

Das Carve-Out (oder auch der Teilunternehmensverkauf), stellt eine besondere Herausforderung im M&A-Umfeld dar. Es werden einzelne Teile oder Marken aus einem Unternehmen oder einem Firmenverbund herausveräußert.

Problematisch dabei sind z.B. der Wert des Unternehmensteils oder der Marke, was nur schwer für den Investor zu bemessen ist. Eine besondere Herausforderung stellen operative Ausgliederungen  von Geschäftseinheiten dar. Speziell sind die Abkopplung von existierenden Systemen (IT), die Herauslösung der Mitarbeiter sowie die Geschäftsübergabe zu nennen.

Unsere Analysen & Dienstleistungen zu einem möglichen Carve-out

 

  1. Welcher Unternehmensteil soll verkauft werden, was wird darin inkludiert, welche Mitarbeiter und welche Assets gehen mit über?
  2. Due Diligence der Verzahnung des Unternehmensteiles mit dem Unternehmen (rechtlich, wirtschaftlich, sozial, räumlich).
  3. Erarbeitung einer unabhängigen Wirtschaftlichkeitsrechnung für den Carve-Out Teil und Auditierung dieser durch eine unabhängige Wirtschaftsprüfung.
  4. Prozessvorbereitung des Carve-Out: Vorbereitung der Abkopplung des Unternehmensteils, Teile bereits unabhängig von der Organisation machen (wo umsetzbar), klassische M&A-Aufgaben wie Erstellung der Management Präsentation, des Datenraums, Vendor Due Diligence und Investorenanalyse und Ansprache.
  5. Vertragsabschluss inklusive etwaiger Vereinbarungen über Transition Services Agreements (TSA).
  6. Tatsächliche Entkoppelung auf der Vendor Seite. Herauslösung in wirtschaftlicher, IT-technischer und rechtlicher Sicht. Integration potentiell nicht mit übergehender Mitarbeiter und Assets etc. sowie die Sicherstellung der Einhaltung der vertraglichen Regelungen zu der Veräußerung(speziell in Bezug auf bestehende TSAs). Dokumentation der Abwicklung um mögliche Haftungsfälle zu vermeiden.

Thorsten Stark
Senior Partner

contact

Lars stark
Direktor

contact