RESTRUCTURING FRAME StaRUG 2021

Innovations of the methods

On July 16, 2019, Directive (EU) 2019/1023 on preventive restructuring frameworks entered into force. Its implementation into the national law of the member states is eagerly awaited by restructuring specialists against the background of declining growth forecasts and warnings of an economic slump. The Stabilization and Restructuring Framework (StaRUG, previously referred to in the discussion as: preventive restructuring framework) will significantly change the restructuring of companies in Germany. 

Who will it apply to, who can take advantage of it and who will come to the fore?

 

The Department R A 6 in the Federal Ministry of Justice is rarely the focus of media attention. Alexander Bornemann, the head of the government, works calmly and systematically with a small team on the refinement of German insolvency law; usually this is hardly good for the headlines.

But since March there has been no trace of calm. In Bornemann’s department, weekend shifts are increasing rapidly: in a fast-track procedure, his troops launched the “Covid 19 Insolvency Suspension Act”. It allows the managers of pandemic-damaged companies to waive their right to go to the insolvency court until the end of September, provided there is a prospect of restructuring. Parts of the regulation are to be extended until 2021, and over-indebted companies will probably still not have to file for insolvency.

Excerpt from one of the current statements in the business magazine (follow the link for the full article) 

Frank Jäger
Senior Expert Partner

Dr. Maren Schweizer
Senior Expert Partner

RESTRUKTURIERUNGSRAHMEN StaRUG 2021

Neuerungen der Methoden

Am 16. Juli 2019 ist die Richtlinie (EU) 2019/1023 über präventive Restrukturierungsrahmen in Kraft getreten. Ihre Umsetzung in das nationale Recht der Mitgliedstaaten wird von Sanierungsspezialisten vor dem Hintergrund sinkender Wachstumsprognosen und Warnungen vor einem Wirtschaftseinbruch mit Spannung erwartet. Der Stabilisierungs- und Restrukturierungsrahmen (StaRUG, bisher in der Diskussion genannt: präventiver Restrukturierungsrahmen) wird die Restrukturierung von Unternehmen in Deutschland maßgeblich verändern. 

Auf wen wird es Zutreffen, wer kann daraus einen Vorteil ziehen und wer tritt nun in den Vordergrund?

 

Das Referat R A 6 im Bundesjustizministerium steht nur selten im Zentrum medialer Aufmerksamkeit. Ruhig und systematisch werkelt Regierungsdirektor Alexander Bornemann mit einem überschaubaren Team an der Verfeinerung des deutschen Insolvenzrechts; üblicherweise taugt das kaum für Schlagzeilen.

Doch seit März ist von Ruhe keine Spur mehr. In Bornemanns Abteilung nehmen die Wochenendschichten rapide zu: Im Schnellverfahren brachte seine Truppe das „Covid-19-Insolvenzaussetzungsgesetz“ auf den Weg. Es erlaubt den Geschäftsführern pandemiegeschädigter Firmen, bis Ende September auf den Gang zum Insolvenzgericht zu verzichten, sofern Aussicht auf Sanierung besteht. Teile der Regelung sollen bis 2021 verlängert werden, überschuldete Unternehmen müssen wohl auch weiterhin nicht Insolvenz anmelden.

Auszug aus einem der aktuellen Stellungnahmen im Wirtschaftsmagazin (dem Link folgen für den gesamten Artikel) 

Frank Jäger
Senior Expert Partner

Dr. Maren Schweizer
Senior Expert Partner